## 20100/NYC

## 2017 BESSIE NOMINEES ANNOUNCED

Wednesday, July 12, 2017 2017 Bessie Nominees Announced

Share | Print | Download



New York, NY, July 12, 2017 – The NY Dance and Performance Awards, The Bessies, New York City's premier dance awards honoring outstanding creative work in the field, today announced the nominees for the 2016–17 season at the Bessies press conference. The nominees were selected by the Bessie Awards Selection Committee, an independent committee of 38 dance industry professionals. Bessie Award categories include Outstanding Production, Outstanding Revived Work, Outstanding Performer, Outstanding Music Composition or Sound Design, and Outstanding Visual Design. The list of nominations follows.

The <u>33rd annual Bessie Awards</u> will take place on Monday, October 9, 2017, at NYU's Skirball Center for the Performing Arts. Tickets will go on sale August 1.

Two 2017 awards were presented at the press conference. The Outstanding Emerging Choreographer Award was presented to Will Rawls for creating astute, genre-eluding work that explores the relationship between movement and language and delves deeply into ideas of transmission, translation, and authorship; and for his multifaceted artistry as choreographer, writer, editor, and curator, expanding the presence of dance and performance.

Abby Zbikowski was presented with the 2017 Juried Bessie Award. This year's Bessies Jury–Kyle Abraham, Brenda Bufalino, and Beth Gill– recognized Zbikowski for her rigorous and utterly unique development of an authentic movement vocabulary, employed in complex and demanding structures to create dances of great energy, intensity, surprise, and danger.

About the Juried Bessie Award: The Bessies Jury is responsible for selecting a choreographer who exhibits some of the most interesting and exciting ideas in dance in New York City today. A new panel of three acclaimed choreographers is convened each year. The award provides the honored dance maker with touring and residency opportunities outside of New York City through a partnership with the New York State DanceForce, a statewide network of arts organizers and presenters.

"The city's dance world this season was incredibly vital, brave, and engaged with the issues of our time, featuring boundarystretching explorations of hip-hop, African, and African-American dance traditions, as well as political cabaret and searingly relevant balletic work," said Bessies Executive Director Lucy Sexton. "I offer my congratulations and gratitude to all the nominated artists for their work."

The 2017 Bessie Awards Steering Committee, responsible for setting policy and providing oversight for the Bessie Awards throughout the year, is comprised of Cora Cahan, Beverly D'Anne, Lane Harwell, Jeanne Linnes, Stanford Makishi, Nicky Paraiso, Carla Peterson, Tamia B. Santana, Laurie Uprichard, and Martin Wechsler.

The 2016–17 Bessie Awards Selection Committee: Diana Byer, Tymberly Canale, Leah Cox, Maura Donohue, Boo Froebel, Angela Fatou Gittens, Diane Grumet, Joseph Hall, Caleb Hammons, Zhenesse Heinemann, Jerron Herman, Iréne Hultman, Celia Ipiotis, Robert LaFosse, Matthew Lopez, Matthew Lyons, Harold Norris, Craig Peterson, Rajika Puri, Susan Reiter, Walter Rutledge, Sue Samuels, George Emilio Sanchez, Risa Shoup, Sally Sommer, Risa Steinberg, Carrie Stern, Kay Takeda, Catherine Tharin, Muna Tseng, Kay Turner, Tony Waag, Eleanor K. Wallace, Edisa Weeks, Ryan Wenzel, Adrienne Westwood, William Whitener, and Tara Aisha Willis.

Click for the full list of 2017 nominees.

<u>< back</u>

previous listing • next listing