Listings

Monday, September 9, 2019

CASTING 2 MALE-IDENTIFYING, NON-UNION PHYSICAL ACTORS/DANCERS FOR AN ORIGINAL DANCE-THEATRE ADAPTATION OF THE NUTCRACKER

 

MY FIRST NUTCRACKER
Music by Tchaikovsky, from his Nutcracker Ballet
Direction and Choreography by Melissa Riker
Adapted for young audiences by Barbara Zinn Krieger

CAST
Ensemble of 4 playing the following roles: 
     - Clara Marie/Sugar Plum Fairy
     - Nutcracker/Prince/Fritz
     - Drosselmeyer/Snow Flake/Cavalier
     - Clara Marie’s Mother/Mouse King/Snow Flake/Dewdrop Fairy

Casting two tracks, each playing multiple roles. Seeking two non-union, male-identifying performers with dance and physical acting skills including:
     - Classical dance technique (Modern & Ballet)
     - Physical acting (voice/text, physical and choreographic approaches to character)
     - Developing/playing multiple characters
     - Audience engagement/participation     

Track 1 Characters & Descriptions
     - Nutcracker: robotic, proper, charming, gracious, earnest
     - Prince: can take space when needed, joyful, can solidly learn classical rep and make it your own. 
     - Fritz: impish, playful, focused, highly physical 


Track 2 Characters & Descriptions
     - Drosselmeyer: magical, bigger than life, unusual, craggy or perfectly fluid
     - Snow Flake: floats on air, magical, welcoming, mysterious, generous
     - Cavalier: sturdy, proud, joyful, willing to join in the fun

Audition Information
Auditions will be held at a midtown studio by invitation.
     September 30: Auditions 10am-2pm
     October 1: Callbacks 11am - 4pm

Auditions will be held in small groups and will include:
     - Sides (available in advance of audition)
     - Choreography
     - Improvisation 

Auditions by invitation. For consideration, please submit the following:
     - Email highlighting relevant skills and performance experience including training in specific dance and physical acting approaches and techniques
     - Resume (links preferred; if attaching a document use PDF)
     - Confirm your availability for auditions (9/30) & callbacks (10/01) and for the performance schedule (schedule below)
     - List any conflicts for rehearsal period  (schedule below)
     - OPTIONAL: Links to examples of performance work

Submit all materials to Jeremy@Jeremy-Williams.org by Sunday, September 22. Incomlete and/or late submissions will not be reviewed or considered.  


Rehearsal Period
     November 4-17
     Day time rehearsals 
     5-6 days per week 

Tech Rehearsal November 19-22 
     11/19, 2-10 PM
     11/20, 10 AM - 10 PM
     11/21, 10 AM - 10 PM
     11/22, 2-10 PM 

Performance Schedule (29 performances total)
     Sat, Nov 23 @ 11 AM & 2 PM (Preview)
     Sun, Nov 24 @ 11 AM (Preview) & 2 PM (Opening)
     Sat, Nov 30 @ 11 AM & 2 PM 
     Sun, Dec 1 @ 11 AM & 2 PM
     Tue, Dec 3  @ 11 AM
     Wed, Dec 4 @ 11 AM 
     Thu, Dec 5 @ 11 AM 
     Sat, Dec  7 @ 11 AM & 2 PM
     Sun, Dec 8 @ 11 AM & 2 PM
     Tue, Dec 10 @ 11 AM
     Wed, Dec 11 @ 11 AM
     Thu, Dec 12 @ 11 AM
     Sat, Dec 14 @ 11 AM & 2 PM
     Sun, Dec 15 @ 11 AM & 2 PM
     Tue, Dec 17 @ 11 AM
     Wed, Dec 18 @ 11 AM
     Thu, Dec 19 @ 11 AM
     Sat, Dec 21 @ 11 AM & 2 PM
     Sun, Dec 22 @ 11 AM & 2 PM

previous listing  •  next listing

“Falling & Loving,” a theater-dance collaboration between Anne Bogart’s SITI Company and Elizabeth Streb’s STREB Extreme Action, adapted from the plays of Charles Mee. peakperfs.tix.com

 

Find More Dance Events
 

“Falling & Loving,” a theater-dance collaboration between Anne Bogart’s SITI Company and Elizabeth Streb’s STREB Extreme Action, adapted from the plays of Charles Mee. peakperfs.tix.com