For Audiences

April, 7-19, 2020

Ballet Hispánico 50th Anniversary Joyce Season

Ballet Hispánico 50th Anniversary Joyce Season Rachel Neville

To celebrate the Company’s 50th Anniversary, Ballet Hispánico’s Artistic Director & CEO, Eduardo Vilaro has curated a two week run at The Joyce Theater that celebrates and honors generations of Latinx artists. Gustavo Ramírez Sansano’s 18+1 makes its New York premiere alongside the award-winning work Jardi Tancat from Nacho Duato. Excerpts of significant works in Ballet Hispánico's history, including Vicente Nebrada’s Batucada Fantástica and Graciela Daniele’s Cada Noche…Tango return to The Joyce stage after nearly thirty years. As a gift to founder Tina Ramirez, the program will feature a duet from William Forsythe’s, New Sleep, a first-time collaboration between Ballet Hispánico and this world-renowned choreographer. Annabelle Lopez Ochoa’s Tiburones and Sombrerísimo, featuring an all-female cast, with returning repertory from Andrea Miller, Pedro Ruiz, Eduardo Vilaro, and Ramón Oller round out the program.


 
Program A (Week One Evening Performances)
Tuesday, April 7 - Wednesday April 8 at 7:30pm | Thursday, April 9 - Saturday, April 11 at 8:00pm
Jardi Tancat by Nacho Duato
Cada Noche...Tango excerpt by Graciela Daniele
Batucada Fantástica excerpt - Vicente Nebrada
18+1 by Gustavo Ramírez Sansano

Program B (Week Two Evening Performances)
Tuesday, April 14 - Wednesday April 15 at 7:30pm | Thursday, April 16 - Saturday, April 18 at 8:00pm
Good Night Paradise by Ramón Oller
Asuka excerpt by Eduardo Vilaro
New Sleep excerpt by William Forsythe
Tiburones by Annabelle Lopez Ochoa

Program C (Matinee Performances)
Saturday, April 11 - Sunday, April 12 and Saturday, April 18 - Sunday, April 19 at 2:00pm 
Sombrerísimo by Annabelle Lopez Ochoa
Nací by Andrea Miller
Club Havana by Pedro Ruiz
 

previous listing  •  next listing

 

Find More Dance Events
 

Sign up for Dance/NYC News