Immigrants. Dance. Arts.


移民藝術家資源


下面是舞蹈/紐約市和它的移民藝術家特別工作小組確認的一些在紐約大都會地區提供最 新和有用的與移民和舞蹈交匯點的資源的服務組織和政府機構。它並不全面,舞蹈/紐約 市歡迎提供更多資源的信息。請發送電郵給immigrantartists@dance.nyc 並提供您的建議


 

服務提供單位

亞美藝術聯盟
亞美藝術聯盟致力於通過資源共享,推廣和社區建設,來加強亞裔美國人的藝術和文化團 體。從 1983 年以來,聯盟一直致力於團結,促進和代表亞裔(紐約市這個人口成長最快 的少數族裔之一)的藝術和文化製作者。

傳統音樂與舞蹈中心
傳統音樂與舞蹈中心協助紐約市的移民社區保持其獨特的表演藝術傳統,並通過與全市的 觀眾分享藝術表現形式來促進跨文化了解。 傳統音樂與舞蹈中心享譽全國的項目把研究, 文檔,演示和教育結合為一,幫助移民社區把傳統傳承給新一代。

加勒比集體舞蹈
加勒比集體舞蹈致力於在紐約布魯克林區的加勒比僑民中促進加勒比舞蹈,表演和文化體 驗。通過它的節目和內容,這個組織培養觀眾對現代舞蹈和傳統舞蹈的鑑賞力。它反映加 勒比文化體驗和舞台傳統,為學生提供重新接觸自己文化根源的機會,並且為解決僑民社 區面臨的問題提供場地。


南亞次大陸族裔提升與運動 (運動中的藝術)

南亞次大陸族裔提升與運動 (DRUM) 成立於 2000 年。旨在為紐約市的南亞地區低收入移 民工人,青年和家庭贏得經濟與教育公正和公民權益與移民權利。運動中的藝術是 DRUM 支持的第一個印度-加勒比/南亞傳統的工人階級領導力計劃。運動中的藝術的成員集體創 作作品,作品源自他們的社區經歷和解放的夢想。


埃斯佩霍藝術組織
埃斯佩霍藝術組織 (EOarts) 是一個移民主導的組織,致力於支持美國藝術的發展和多樣性。 其使命是創建一個國際性的多文化的藝術家社區,為文化的世界化開闢新的可能性和前景。 運用各種社交網絡和方案,EOarts 旨在從個人與專業的層面提升藝術領域。

移民藝術聯盟
移民藝術聯盟的成立(IAC)旨在認同各種源自海外文化的藝術家和藝術團體的重要性和 貢獻。那些服務各個族裔社區和享譽紐約的成員藝術家和藝術團體彼此分享倡導,觀眾群 體開發和其他資源,並且持續不斷地相互協作和分享節目。舞蹈/紐約市是 IAC 的創始成 員之一。

國際移民運動
國際移民運動是皇后區有大量移民的科羅納地區的一個社區空間。該項目由藝術家 Tania Bruguera 和皇后博物館合作創建,這個項目免費提供全面教育性節目,健康和法律服務。 每個特定的星期,位於羅斯福大道的活動店面都會舉辦十幾個免費研討會,包括舞會。這 裡還成為組織各種文化活動的中心,活動圍繞着移民在地區,國家和全球層級的社會和政 治代表問題。

印裔美國人藝術委員會
這個委員會(IAAC)是一個非營利組織,支持所有受到印度文化影響的古典的,混合的, 民間的和創新式的形式。它與美國各地的同事合作,擴大它的文化觀賞群體,建立一個分 享信息,資源和資金的網絡。其重點是幫助北美的藝術家和藝術團體協助來自印度的藝術 家在這裡舉辦展覽,演出和製作他們的作品。

蓮花音樂與舞蹈
蓮花音樂與舞蹈是一個傳統和本土藝術形式的表演場,棲息地和教育中心。它的宗旨是保 持活力,充分利用所有世界文化的音樂和舞蹈傳統。蓮花音樂與舞蹈保持其在紐約市唯 一的舞蹈工作室的特點,擁有來自印度,韓國,緬甸,中國,南太平洋,中東,莫哈克國 家,西非和西班牙的藝術大師。

紐約藝術基金會(移民藝術家項目)

紐約藝術基金會移民藝術家項目(IAP)正在建立和服務一個具有不同文化背景,但有相 同移民經歷的藝術家社區。IPA 有三個組成部分。移民藝術家指導項目把外國出生的新興 藝術家與已經獲得 NYSCA/NYFA 藝術家獎學金的藝術家和/或該項目過去的參加者配對。 免費的 Con Edison IAP 新聞通訊列出即將到來的移民藝術家具體感興趣的機會和活動,以 及藝術家個人,或藝術表演/移民服務組織的簡介。IPA 資源目錄是個起點,向移民藝術家 介紹紐約的一些可用資源。

2

大都會地區藝術理事會包括成員:布朗區藝術委員會,布魯克林區藝術委員會,曼哈頓下 城文化委員會,皇后區藝術委員會,斯坦登島藝術,洛克蘭郡藝術委員會,威斯徹斯特郡 藝術,東區藝術委員會,亨廷頓藝術委員會,長島藝術委員會(在自由港)和史密斯鎮鄉 鎮藝術委員會。它們為移民藝術家和公司提供當地支持。

針對移民與舞蹈交匯點提供服務的著名的全國範圍提供者包括表演藝術專業人員協會, 該協會與美國管弦樂隊聯盟一起創建了國外藝術家,表演藝術聯盟,和舞蹈/美國聯盟, 這是一個全國性的專業舞蹈組織。舞蹈/紐約市與舞蹈/美國聯盟為結盟。


 

政府資源:紐約市,州,和聯邦政府

 

紐約市身份證(IDNYC)
現在,紐約市 14 歲以上的居民,不管其移民身份為何,都可以登記領取紐約市民身份證。 IDNYC 卡的持有人能夠憑此卡得到紐約市,以及商業和社區合夥人提供的服務和便利。 IDNYC 作為紐約市警察局認可的證件,有助於加強公共安全。它還幫助紐約人得以進入所 有市屬建築,獲得其提供的公共服務,並被接受作為數個紐約市服務的身份識別標記。 IDNYC 還為持卡人帶來一系列動態福利,包括在許多有名的市屬博物館,動物園,音樂廳 和植物園享受一年免費成員資格。

市長移民事務辦公室
市長移民事務辦公室(MOIA)支持並領導一系列加強移民紐約人在經濟,公民和社會融 合方面的政策和計劃。該機構的網站提供全面的資源,它涉及廣泛的信息和轉介,包括移 民法律服務,紐約市的服務和福利以及其他類型的援助。來這裡(MOIA)了解更多服務。

紐約市文化事務局
紐約市文化事務局(DCLA)致力於支持和加強紐約市充滿活力的文化生活。通過紐約市 有史以來的第一個文化計劃 CreateNYC,它優先支持包容所有移民身份紐約人的行業,包 括各種藝術,文化團體和科學組織,並與 MOIA,文化社區和當地的藝術委員會密切合作。 DCLA 的網站提供有關不斷發展的計劃以及文化和特定的人口資源信息。

紐約市教育局
紐約市教育局(DOE)和市長辦公室致力於保護紐約市的每個學生,不管他移民身份為何, 都有權利到公立學校學習。教育局和它的藝術與特長計劃辦公室為紐約市公立學校學生, 老師,學校領導和家長提供信息,以支持藝術教育。資源包括定期發布的研究報告,例如 紐約市學校調查和學校年度藝術報告;藝術與文化教育(ACES)指南 - 為紐約市公立學校 的老師,行政人員,學校領導提供機會,了解紐約市舞蹈和文化領域的教育項目,以及 舞蹈的技巧與學習藍圖 - 為舞蹈教師和其他教育工作者的資源。


紐約州藝術委員會
紐約州藝術委員會是州立機構,致力於保護和擴展現在和將來都將成為紐約州公民遺產 的豐富和多元的文化資源。它的活動部分基於這樣一種指導:相信紐約州的每個公民都具有創造力,並且每個社區都有權享有文化自決權。其網站提供它的核心資助和特別項目的 信息,以及在這個領域的各種資源。
相關的州機構還有紐約州教育廳,紐約州勞工廳移民政策與事務處,和紐約州新美國人辦 公室,它的設立旨在幫助新美國人充分參與紐約州公民與經濟生活。

國家藝術基金會
國家藝術基金會(NEA)是個獨立的聯邦機構,它通過向所有美國人提供參與藝術的多元 機會來資助,促進和加強藝術社區的創意能力。它的網站提供節目信息,新聞和與移民藝 術家和觀眾有關的研究:例如,由 NEA 研究資金資助的考慮美國的文化融合。 相關的聯邦機構還包括負責監管合法移民美國的美國移民局,和既提供移民資源,也提供 教育資源內的藝術資源的美國教育部。



Artists Visa Services


American Guild of Musical Artists
www.musicalartists.org/membership/visa-consultation/
Phone: 212-265-3687 | 1-800-543-2462

Dance/USA
www.danceusa.org/visasupport
Phone: 202-833-1717

Espejo Organization for the Arts
www.eoarts.com/o1-visa-free-info-session
Phone: 347-484-6212

Fractured Atlas
www.fracturedatlas.org/site/prodev/page/artist_visas
Phone: 888-692-7878

Mastery Productions
www.masteryproductions.com/
Phone: 212-477-3338

Prelude Productions
www.preludeproductions.com/index%20sponsor%20explained.html
Phone: 212-717-2049


Asian/American Center of Queens College

Immigrants. Dance. Arts.


RESOURCES


The following represents those service organizations and government entities that provide the most up-to-date and useful resources at the intersection of immigration and dance in the metropolitan New York City area as identified by Dance/NYC and its Immigrants. Dance. Arts. Task Force. It is not comprehensive, and Dance/NYC welcomes information about additional resources. Please email immigrantartists@dance.nyc with suggestions.


 

Service Providers

Asian American Arts Alliance
The Asian American Arts Alliance is dedicated to strengthening Asian American arts and cultural groups through resource sharing, promotion, and community building. Since 1983, the Alliance has sought to unify, promote, and represent the artistic and cultural producers of one of New York City's fastest-growing ethnic populations.

Center for Traditional Music and Dance
The Center for Traditional Music and Dance assists New York City's immigrant communities to preserve the vitality of their distinctive performing arts traditions and promotes cross-cultural understanding by sharing the art forms with audiences across the city. Nationally renowned for programs that combine research, documentation, presentation, and education, CTMD assists immigrant communities in passing traditions to new generations.

Dance Caribbean COLLECTIVE
The Dance Caribbean COLLECTIVE is an organization dedicated to facilitating Caribbean dance works, performances, and cultural experiences in the Caribbean diaspora, with a focus on Brooklyn, New York. Through its programming and content, the collective cultivates audiences' appreciation for both contemporary and traditional dance, it reflects cultural experiences and traditions onstage, it offers students opportunities to reconnect to their cultural roots, and it provides spaces to address the issues facing its communities.

Desis Rising Up and Moving (Moving Art)
Desis Rising Up and Moving (DRUM) was founded in 2000 to build the power of South Asian low-wage immigrant workers, youth, and families in New York City to win economic and educational justice and civil and immigrant rights. Moving Art is DRUM's first program to support the leadership of working-class Indo-Caribbean and South Asian cultural workers. Moving Art members make art collectively that is grounded in their communities' experiences and dreams of liberation.

Espejo Organization for the Arts
The Espejo Organization for the Arts (EOarts) is an immigrant-led organization dedicated to supporting the growth and diversity of the arts in the United States. Its mission is to create an international and multicultural community of artists that will open new possibilities and perspectives for culture worldwide. Using various networks and programs, EOarts aims to improve the artistic sphere from a personal and professional level.

Immigrant Arts Coalition
The Immigrant Arts Coalition (IAC) formed to recognize the important and ongoing contributions of artists and arts organizations identifying with cultures from all sources and abroad. Member artists and organizations that serve diaspora communities and the wider public in New York share advocacy, audience development, and other resources, and collaborate with ongoing and continuous shared programming. Dance/NYC is a founding member of IAC.

Immigrant Movement International
Immigrant Movement International is a community space in the heavily immigrant neighborhood of Corona, Queens. Founded as a partnership between artist Tania Bruguera and the Queens Museum, the project offers comprehensive educational programming, health, and legal services at no cost. On any given week, more than a dozen free workshops are hosted at the project's storefront on Roosevelt Avenue, including dance. The space has also served as a hub for cultural organizing initiatives surrounding the social and political representation of immigrants at local, national, and global levels.

Indo-American Arts Council
The Indo-American Arts Council (IAAC) is a nonprofit organization supporting all the artistic disciplines in classical, fusion, folk, and innovative forms influenced by the arts of India. It works cooperatively with colleagues around the United States to broaden its collective audiences and to create a network for shared information, resources, and funding. Its focus is to help artists and art organizations in North America facilitate artists from India to exhibit, perform, and produce their work here.

Lotus Music & Dance
Lotus Music & Dance is a performance space, sanctuary, and center of education for traditional and indigenous performing art forms. Its mission is to keep alive and accessible the music and dance traditions of all world cultures. Lotus Music & Dance remains the only institution of its kind in New York City, a city which master artists from India, Korea, Burma, China, the South Pacific, Middle East, the Mohawk Nation, West Africa, and Spain collectively call home.

New York Foundation for the Arts (Immigrant Artist Program)
The New York Foundation for the Arts' Immigrant Artist Program (IAP) is building and serving a community of artists with diverse backgrounds who share the experience of immigration. The IAP consists of three components. The Immigrant Artist Mentoring Program pairs emerging foreign-born artists with artists who have received a NYSCA/NYFA Artist Fellowship and/or past participants of the program. The free Con Edison IAP Newsletter lists upcoming opportunities and events of particular interest to immigrant artists, as well as profiles of individual artists or arts/immigrant services organizations. The IAP Resource Directory serves as a starting point, introducing immigrant artists to some of the resources available to them in New York.

Metropolitan area Arts Councils including the Bronx Council on the Arts, Brooklyn Arts Council, Lower Manhattan Cultural Council, Queens Council on the Arts, Staten Island Arts, Arts Council of Rockland, Arts Westchester, East End Arts Council, Huntington Arts Council, Long Island Arts Council at Freeport, and Smithtown Township Arts Council provide localized support for immigrant artists and companies.


Notable national service providers addressing the intersection of immigration and dance include the Association of Performing Arts Professionals, which together with the League of American Orchestras have created Artists from Abroad, Performing Arts Alliance, and Dance/USA, the national service organization for professional dance.

Dance/NYC works in alliance with Dance/USA.


 

Government Resources


City:

IDNYC
New York City residents are now able to sign up for IDNYC, a government-issued identification card that is available to all City residents age 14 and older, regardless of immigration status. IDNYC cardholders can access services and programs offered by the City as well as by business and community partners. IDNYC helps enhance public safety by serving as a recognized ID for interacting with NYPD. It also helps New Yorkers gain access to all City buildings that provide services to the public and is accepted as a form of identification for accessing numerous City programs and services. IDNYC also provides a dynamic series of benefits to cardholders, including a free one-year membership at many of the City's leading museums, zoos, concert halls, and botanical gardens.

Mayor's Office of Immigrant Affairs
The Mayor's Office of Immigrant Affairs (MOIA) supports and leads a range of policies and programs that enhance the economic, civic, and social integration of immigrant New Yorkers. The agency's website offers comprehensive resources addressing a wide range of information and referrals to resources, including immigration legal services, City services and benefits, and other types of assistance. Learn more about MOIA services here.

New York City Department of Cultural Affairs
The New York City Department of Cultural Affairs (DCLA) is dedicated to supporting and strengthening New York City's vibrant cultural life. With CreateNYC, the City's first-ever cultural plan, it prioritizes supporting arts, culture, and science organizations as inclusive spaces for New Yorkers of all immigration status, and it partners closely with MOIA, the cultural community and local Arts Councils. DCLA's website offers information on its evolving programs as well as culturally and population-specific resources.

New York City Department of Education
The New York City Department of Education (DOE) and the Mayor's Office are committed to protecting the right of every student in New York City to attend public school, regardless of immigration status. The Department of Education and its Office of Arts and Special Projects provide New York City public school communities' students, teachers, school leaders, and parents with information to support arts education. Resources include regularly published research, such as the NYC Schools Survey and Annual Arts In School Report; Arts & Cultural Education Services (ACES) Guide, to provide New York City's public school teachers, administrators, and school leaders access to the education programs of New York City's dance and cultural community, and the Blueprint for Teaching and Learning in Dance, a resource for dance teachers and other educators.

State:

New York State Council of the Arts
The New York State Council on the Arts is the State agency dedicated to preserving and expanding the rich and diverse cultural resources that are and will become the heritage of New York's citizens. Its activities are guided, in part, by a belief that every citizen of New York State can have a meaningful connection to creativity and that every community has a right to cultural self-determination. Its website offers information on its core grantmaking and special projects, as well as resources for the field.

Relevant State agencies also include the New York State Department of Education, the New York State Department of Labor Division of Immigrant Policies and Affairs, and the New York State Office for New Americans, established to help New Americans fully participate in New York State civic and economic life.

 

Federal:

National Endowment for the Arts
The National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) is an independent federal agency that funds, promotes, and strengthens the creative capacity of communities by providing all Americans with diverse opportunities for arts participation. Its website offers program information, news, and research of relevance to immigrant artist and audiences: for example, Considering Cultural Integration in the United States, which was made possible by an NEA research grant.

Relevant Federal agencies also include United States Citizenship and Immigration Services, which oversees lawful immigration to the United States, and the United States Department of Education, which offers both immigrant resources and arts in education resources.



Artists Visa Services


American Guild of Musical Artists
www.musicalartists.org/membership/visa-consultation/
Phone: 212-265-3687 | 1-800-543-2462

Dance/USA
www.danceusa.org/visasupport
Phone: 202-833-1717

Espejo Organization for the Arts
www.eoarts.com/o1-visa-free-info-session
Phone: 347-484-6212

Fractured Atlas
www.fracturedatlas.org/site/prodev/page/artist_visas
Phone: 888-692-7878

Mastery Productions
www.masteryproductions.com/
Phone: 212-477-3338

Prelude Productions
www.preludeproductions.com/index%20sponsor%20explained.html
Phone: 212-717-2049


Translations provided by Asian/American Center of Queens College in Chinese, Korean, and Spanish.

Utopia Banner Ad