Dance Advancement Fund

English 汉字 Español

Dance Advancement Fund. For metropolitan NYC area dance makers with operating budgets between $10,000 and $500,000. Application open Wed Aug 25 to Fri Oct 8 (11:59PM EST). bit.ly/DanceAdvancement21

2022-2023 舞蹈推進基金 申請詳情和審查標準

Table of Contents


合格條件

申請者若符合以下條件,即具申請資格:

  • 以舞蹈創作和/或表演為主的舞蹈製作者,並有至少三年的紐約都會區內舞蹈製作相關活動的歷史;
  • 總部位於大紐約都會區,包括:紐約市的五個行政區,紐約州的拿騷(Nassau),羅克蘭(Rockland),薩福克(Suffolk)和威徹斯特郡群(Westchester counties),以及新澤西州的卑爾根和哈德森縣(Bergen and Hudson counties)。
  • 2020、2021年(實際支出),2022年(預期支出)的年度費用預算介於10,000美元至500,000萬美元之間;及
  • 能提供目前501(c)(3)證明文件或具財政贊助狀態之證明。如何成為財政贊助受惠者的相關細節,請至https://www.dance.nyc/for-artists/resource-pages/fiscalsponsorship/resources.

強烈鼓勵過去或現正受助於Dance / NYC或/及霍華吉爾曼基金會,福特基金會,或從未獲得Dance / NYC和以上組織資助的舞蹈製作者申請補助。

申請者若與以下任一條件相符,則不符合申請資格:

  • 無財政贊助商的個體舞蹈製作者。
  • 總部位於大紐約都會區之外者(定義:紐約市的五大行政區及紐約州的拿騷、羅克蘭、薩福克、威徹斯特郡群以及新澤西州的卑爾根和哈德森縣
  • 舞蹈製作在組織或團體中屬於新的項目(其舞蹈製作活動在紐約大都會區中少於三年者);
  • 組織主要關注或其使命並非著重於舞蹈創作或表演的組織或團體;
  • 主要著重於舞蹈治療之重心的組織;
  • 教育機關
  • 製作人
  • 表演或呈現者
  • 藝術節;或
  • 服務機構

資助優先資格及審查細則

Dance/NYC預計獎勵授助至多五十個舞蹈製作者。

審查標準:

評審小組將根據以下標準評估申請案件:

  • 首重申請者定義的清楚藝術視野與其藝術卓越性。Dance/NYC採用民主躍動(Animating Democracy)之審美觀點:促進變革的卓越藝術屬性作為藝術視野與卓越性的基準來源;
  • 在兩年補助期後仍致力維持營運實作。
  • 承諾並進行可實現的行動,其行動需與已呈述的多樣性,公正公平與包容的價值觀一致;
  • 無論預算規模,組織及其財務健康狀況,並承諾對藝術家和藝術工作者支付足夠的生活薪資;
  • 能清晰敘述此資金補助將如何幫助推進其組織或團體;
  • 願意參與持續的學習/專業發展,並在受補助者群組中分享學習經驗。“舞蹈製作者成為自動生成藝術家(generative artist)的過程之一,是展示初明確的社群參與及社會實踐方法。”

根據領域中的研究1,符合下列條件之申請者將優先獲取資助:

  • 展現出藝術卓越性與其受益於此資助計劃之潛力;
  • 舞蹈製作者的總部位於布朗克斯(Bronx);東布魯克林(East Brooklyn);北曼哈頓(Northern Manhattan);皇后區(Queens);斯塔登島(Staten Island);紐約州的拿騷、羅克蘭、薩福克、威徹斯特郡群;新澤西州的卑爾根和哈德森縣。
  • 由 ALAANA 或女性,非二元/非常規性別/性別酷兒,跨性別,身障人士,以及移民藝術家在藝術層面上領導(或以其他方式創作作品)的組織/團體;
  • 與當地社群建立問責和相互依存關係的舞蹈製作者;
  • 年度花費預算低於25萬美元的舞蹈製作者;
  • 其藝術實踐維持了10到19年資歷的舞蹈製作者;
  • 財政資源獲取有限的組織/團體,尤其是藉政府機構所獲得之私人慈善援助與公共資金;和
  • 獲補助群能反映出各式舞蹈創作之流派及藝術觀點。

Dance/NYC之所以專注在某些特定地區的目標原因是,幫助增加這些史上支援始終不足之地區的活動性。Dance / NYC以地域性作為選擇依據,目的是願所集結的受補助群體能代表都會區居民人口統計之特性,並解決Dance / NYC之研究內所強調的不平等。其中,尤以舞蹈勞動力中種族單一性,身障藝術家普遍缺席現象,以及移民藝術家收入的缺乏最為明顯。

Dance/NYC 此次重點放於預算低於25萬美元與舞創經歷年資10至19年的組織之原因是建基於近年的研究在續變的舞蹈生態中定義何謂“低預算”舞蹈製作者(www.Dance.nyc/sbdmdata2020) 調查顯示 78%的低預算舞製組織預算介於 2.5 萬美元到 25 萬美元之間,其中營運年份超過十年者占比83%, 40% 的成立年份介於10至19年間。(據2020年人普調查數據,紐約市人口約69%為ALAANA。據2019 年美國社區調查之5年評估數據指出,紐約市人口11%為身心障礙者,52%為女性,而37%為外籍人士。資料來源:美國人口普查局之FactFinder:美國社調2015-2019之5年評估)

審查流程:

以其具公平性和包容性作為工作內容基本宗旨的Dance/NYC,採用了「沒有US則一切全無(Nothing Without Us)」的概念:若那些直接受影響者沒有全面性的直接參與,則不應制定任何方案或政策。因此,受補助者將由15至20名舞蹈工作者所組成之審查團隊選出,其中亦包括Dance/NYC專案小組及其委員會成員。

評審成員將根據以下條件篩選:

  • 具有在紐約大都會區創作、表演、資助和舞蹈方面展演呈現的專業知識;
  • 與 Dance/NYC之公平正義與包容價值觀一致;以及
  • 小組成員能代表當地之人口組成特性Dance/NYC找尋著由非裔人,拉丁裔人,亞裔人,阿拉伯裔人,美洲原住民(以上簡稱ALAANA)為主體,並主要由女性,非二元/非常規性別/性別酷兒,跨性別,並包括身心障礙者及移民藝術家的組成。

所有評審小組成員均將:

  • 進行審查前必先受訓
  • 必遵守保密與利益衝突政策;和
  • 其所花費的審查時間會到報償

評審不得同為申請人。評審小組成員能針對受補助者的最終名單提出建議,但無法對作為實體的Dance/NYC行使監督職能。Dance/NYC在決定受補助者之審議過程中並無投票權,但擁有包括資助金額大小的最終決定權。

資助金額將根據受助者2021財年之總支出預算範圍的浮動率決定:

  • $10,000- $24,999; 
  • $25,000-$49,999; 
  • $50,000-$74,999; 
  • $75,000-$99,999; 
  • $100,000-$149,999; 
  • $150,000-$199,999;
  • $200,000-$249,999;  
  • $250,000-$349,999; 和 
  • $350,000-$500,000

申請過程

Dance / NYC使用線上申請系統:dancenyc.submittable.com 。填寫申請表之前,會請有興趣的舞蹈製作者回答一系列問題,以確定符合補助基本資格。若您條件符合,則將進一步帶領申請人完成申請。

為了支持可能潛在的申請者,Dance/NYC創草了一份申請補助的指南,內容完整包括所有申請問題及所需附件的概述。Dance/NYC估計申請人在已準備好工作樣本的狀態下,約需5-10個小時左右的時間完成所有申請資料。

完整申請表,包括所有資料及附件,需在美東時間2021年10月4日下午6點之前於線上提交。不完整的申請表,或紙本申請,或10月4日後才繳交的申請均不受理。

完整交付申請表格及文件的合格申請者,無論其申請結果如何都將獲得適度酬勞,以表彰其申請過程中所參與的勞動心力與資源。然而,申請表格不完整和不合格者將不符酬金獲取資格。

按此開始申請


時間表

補助徵件公告 2021年八月25號

線上研討會

強烈建議所有申請者參加。


 

2021年9月2日,上午10:00 -下午12:30

zoom.us/j/93681911073 OR
Call 929.205.6099 (New York)
Meeting ID: 936 8191 1073

線上技術援助會議

每節會議20分鐘

  • 9 月 9 日美東時間下午 3點-下午7點
  • 9 月 16 日,美東時間上午 10點- 下午 1點
  • 9 月 23 日,美東時間上午 10點- 下午1點
  • 9 月 30 日,美東時間上午 10點- 下午 1點
 

每節四十分鐘

  • 9 月 8 日,美東時間上午 11點- 下午 1點
  • 9 月 10 日,美東時間下午 3點到4點
  • 9 月 22 日,美東時間上午 11點- 下午 1點
  • 9 月 30 日,美東時間下午 3點到4點
申請截止時間 2021年美東時間10月8號 晚上11:59點
小組審查 2021年十一月
獲助通知 2021年十二月
獲補助者名單公佈 2022年一月
補助金額撥款支付

2022 年 1 月 2 日當週(首筆款項支付)

2023 年 1 月 3 日當週(第二筆款項支付

獲助者線上說明會 2022 年 1 月 17 日當週
受補助者期中報告截止日 2022 年 11 月 30 日
受補助者結案報告截止日 2024 年 3月 31 日

註解

1 螺旋合作機構(Helicon Collaborative)之非僅止於錢:文化慈善事業中的公平問題(Not Just Money: Equity Issues in Cultural Philanthropy (http://heliconcollab.net/our_work/not-just-money/)

楊錫諮詢公司(Yancey Consulting)的何為藝術領域中的必要範例轉變以滋養更永續的蓬勃多彩的機構(What Are the Paradigm Shifts Necessary for the Arts Sector to Nurture THRIVING Institutions of Color)(https://www.ddcf.org/globalassets/news-and-publications/2018-news-and-publications/final-yancey-consultings-alaana-thrivability-report-january-2018.pdf)

Dance/NYC之紐約市區舞蹈和勞動力人口現況統計 (Dance.NYC/StateofDance2016)

Dance/NYC之在續變的舞蹈生態中定義何謂“低預算”舞蹈製作者 研究 (Dance.NYC/SBDMdata2020)

Dance/NYC資訊簡報:新冠病毒對舞蹈之影響 (https://bit.ly/DNYC_COVID_DanceImpactBrief)

an orange rectangle with 4 dotted blue lines along the margins. White text within reads

Sign up for Dance/NYC News

Dance Advancement Fund

English 汉字 Español

Dance Advancement Fund. For metropolitan NYC area dance makers with operating budgets between $10,000 and $500,000. Application open Wed Aug 25 to Fri Oct 8 (11:59PM EST). bit.ly/DanceAdvancement21

2022-2023 Application Details and Review Rubric

Table of Contents


Eligibility Requirements

Applicants are eligible to apply if they:

  • Are a dance maker focused on the creation and/or performance of dance, with a history of at least three years of dance-making activity in the metropolitan NYC area;
  • Are headquartered in the metropolitan New York City area, including the five boroughs of New York City, as well as Nassau, Rockland, Suffolk, and Westchester counties in New York State, and Bergen and Hudson counties in New Jersey;
  • Have an annual expense budget between $10,000–$500,000 for FY 2020 (actual), FY 2021 (actual), and FY 2022 (forecasted); and
  • Can provide proof of current 501(c)(3) status or fiscal sponsorship status. For details on how to become fiscally sponsored, please visit Dance/NYC's Fiscal Sponsorship Resources page.

You are encouraged to apply if you are a current or past grantee of Dance/NYC and/or the Howard Gilman Foundation, the Ford Foundation, or if you have not previously been funded by Dance/NYC or either of these organizations.

Applicants are not eligible to apply if they are:

  • An individual dance maker without a fiscal sponsor;
  • An organization and/or group headquartered outside of the metropolitan New York City area (defined as the five boroughs of New York City, as well as Nassau, Rockland, Suffolk, and Westchester counties in New York State, and Bergen and Hudson counties in New Jersey);
  • An organization and/or group for which dance making is new (fewer than three years of dance-making activities in the metropolitan NYC area); 
  • An organization and/or group whose primary focus and/or mission is not focused on the creation and/or performance of dance; 
  • An organization for which dance therapy is a primary function;
  • An educational institution;
  • A producer;
  • A presenter;
  • A festival; or
  • A service organization.

Funding Priorities and Review Rubric

Dance/NYC seeks to award grants to up to 50 dance makers. 

Review Criteria:

  • The review panel will evaluate applications based on the following criteria:
  • Above all, clear artistic vision and artistic excellence as defined by applicants. Dance/NYC uses Animating Democracy’s Aesthetic Perspectives: Attributes of Excellence in Arts for Change as a foundational resource to assess artistic vision and excellence;
  • A dedication to sustaining practice beyond the two-year grant period;
  • Commitments and measurable actions in alignment with stated values of diversity, justice, equity, and inclusion; 
  • Organizational and financial health, regardless of budget size, and a commitment to paying artists and arts workers a living wage;
  • A well-articulated narrative for how the funds will help advance the organization and/or group;
  • A willingness to engage in ongoing learning/professional development and to share learnings within a cohort of grantees. "Dancemakers who exhibit a clear community engagement and approach to social practice as a part of their process of being a generative artist."

In alignment with field research1, priority in grant selection will be given to applicants who are:

  • Demonstrate artistic excellence and potential to benefit from the grant program;
  • Dance makers headquartered in the Bronx; East Brooklyn; Northern Manhattan; Queens; Staten Island; Nassau, Rockland, Suffolk, and Westchester counties in New York State; and Bergen and Hudson counties in New Jersey;
  • Organizations/groups artistically led or otherwise creating work by ALAANA and/or women-identifying and gender nonconforming/nonbinary/genderqueer and transgender and/or disabled and/or immigrant artists; 
  • Dance makers who work in accountability and interdependence with local communities;
  • Dance makers with annual expense budgets under $250,000;
  • Dance makers with a sustained artistic practice spanning between 10-19 years;
  • Organizations/groups who have limited access to financial resources, specifically, private philanthropic support and public funding through government agencies; and
  • A grantee pool that reflects a diversity of dance making genres and artistic perspectives.

Dance/NYC’s goal in focusing on specific geographic areas is to help increase activity in areas that are historically under supported. Dance/NYC’s aim in considering demographics as a selection criterion is to identify a grantee pool that represents the demographics of residents in the metropolitan area and address misalignments highlighted by Dance/NYC research, in particular, racial homogeneity in the dance workforce, a general absence of disabled artists, and a lack of income for immigrant artists. Dance/NYC’s focus on organizations with budgets under $250k and those making work for 10-19 years is based on findings from its recent Defining “Small-Budget” Dance Makers in a Changing Dance Ecology which shows 78% of small-budget dance making organizations have budgets between $25k and $250k and 83% were established a decade or more ago, with 40% having been established 10 to 19 years ago. (According to 2020 Census data, the New York City population is approximately 69% ALAANA. Census Data from the 2019 American Community Survey 5-Year Estimates suggests that the New York City population is 11% disabled, 52% female, and 37% foreign-born. Source: US Census Bureau American FactFinder 2015-2019 American Community Survey 5-Year Estimates). 

Review Process:

As an underlying tenet of its equity and inclusion work, Dance/NYC embraces the concept of “Nothing Without Us”: no program or policy should be formed without the full, direct involvement of those impacted. For this reason, grantees will be selected by a review panel of 15-20 dance workers, including members of Dance/NYC’s task forces and committees

Panelists will be selected for:

  • Their expertise in creating, performing, funding, and/or presenting dance in the metropolitan NYC area; 
  • Alignment with Dance/NYC’s justice, equity, and inclusion values; and
  • Their demographic representation of the local population. Dance/NYC seeks a panel that is majority African, Latina/o/x, Asian, Arab, and Native American (ALAANA), is majority women-identifying and gender nonconforming/nonbinary/genderqueer and transgender, and includes disabled and immigrant artists. 

All panelists are:

  • Trained prior to engaging in the review of applications;
  • Must adhere to confidentiality and conflict of interest policies; and
  • Compensated for their time. 

No panelist can be an applicant. Panelists will have the ability to make recommendations for the final slate of grantees, but exercise no oversight function with regard to Dance/NYC as an entity. Dance/NYC does not have a vote in the grantee deliberation process, but will make final determinations, including funding amounts.

Amounts will be determined on a sliding scale based on grantees’ total expense budget range for FY 2021: 

  • $10,000- $24,999; 
  • $25,000-$49,999; 
  • $50,000-$74,999; 
  • $75,000-$99,999; 
  • $100,000-$149,999; 
  • $150,000-$199,999;
  • $200,000-$249,999;  
  • $250,000-$349,999; and 
  • $350,000-$500,000

Application Process

Dance/NYC is using an online application portal: dancenyc.submittable.com. Before completing the application form, interested dance makers are asked to first complete a series of questions to determine baseline eligibility for the grant program. If eligible, applicants will be prompted to complete the application.

To support prospective applicants, Dance/NYC has created an application guide, which includes a full overview of all application questions and required attachments. Dance/NYC estimates applicants may need approximately 5-10 hours to complete their application if they already have work samples available. 

Complete applications, including supplementary materials, must be submitted online by Friday, October 8, 2021, 11:59 p.m. EST. Incomplete applications, hard copy submissions, and applications received after the October 8 deadline will not be considered.

Eligible applicants who submit completed applications will receive a modest honorarium in recognition of the labor and resources required to participate in the application process, regardless of the outcome of their application. Incomplete and ineligible submissions will not qualify for receipt of an honorarium.

START YOUR APPLICATION


Timeline

Call for proposals release August 25, 2021

Webinar

All applicants are strongly encouraged to participate

September 2, 2021, 10:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.

zoom.us/j/93681911073 OR
Call 929.205.6099 (New York)
Webinar ID: 936 8191 1073

Virtual Technical Assistance Sessions

20-minute sessions

  • September 9th, 3:00 p.m. - 7:00 p.m. EST
  • September 16th, 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. EST 
  • September 23rd, 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. EST 
  • September 30th, 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. EST

*New Sessions Added*

  • October 1, 2021, 3:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST
  • ​October 3, 2021, 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. EST
  • October 4, 2021 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.;​
    3:30 p.m. - 5:30 p.m. EST
  • October 6, 2021, 3:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST
  • ​October 7, 2021, 12:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. EST
  • October 8, 2021, 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. EST

 

40-minute sessions

  • September 8, 2021, 11:00 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. EST
  • September 10, 2021, 3:00 and 4:00 p.m. EST
  • September 22, 2021, 11:00 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. EST
  • September 30, 2021, 3:00 and 4:00 p.m. EST
Deadline for submission

Friday, October 8, 2021, 11:59 p.m. EST

Panel review November 2021
Award notification December 2021
Grantee announcement January 2022
Grant disbursements Week of January 2, 2022 (1st payment)
Week of January 3, 2023 (2nd payment)
Grantee Orientation Webinar* Week of January 17, 2022
Interim grantee report due* November 30, 2022
Final grantee report due* March 31, 2024

* Required for all award recipients


Footnote:

Helicon Collaborative Not Just Money: Equity Issues in Cultural Philanthropy (http://heliconcollab.net/our_work/not-just-money/)

Yancey Consulting What Are the Paradigm Shifts Necessary for the Arts Sector to Nurture THRIVING Institutions of Color (https://www.ddcf.org/globalassets/news-and-publications/2018-news-and-publications/final-yancey-consultings-alaana-thrivability-report-january-2018.pdf)

Dance/NYC State of NYC Dance and Workforce Demographics (Dance.NYC/StateofDance2016)

Dance/NYC Defining “Small-Budget” Dance Makers in a Changing Dance Ecology (Dance.NYC/SBDMdata2020)

Dance/NYC Coronavirus Dance Impact Informational Brief (https://bit.ly/DNYC_COVID_DanceImpactBrief)

To the left, you can see the Red and Black Parsons Dance logo, in the middle, a dancer is jumping through the air, his body turned away, but his face looking towards us. The right shows text displaying 'Nov 30 - Dec 12,' 'Buy Tickets,' and The Joyce Theater logo.

Sign up for Dance/NYC News