Dance Advancement Fund

English 汉字 Español

Dance Advancement Fund. For metropolitan NYC area dance makers with operating budgets between $10,000 and $500,000. Application open Wed Aug 25 to Fri Oct 8 (11:59PM EST). bit.ly/DanceAdvancement21

2022-2023 舞蹈推進基金 概述

Table of Contents


計畫概述及補助目的

此資助計劃成立需感謝福特基金會(Ford Foundation)及霍華吉爾曼基金會(Howard Gilman Foundation)的慷慨支持,資助金提供的目的為解決舞蹈領域內的資源分配不均問題並增加其生存彈性和蓬勃發展。

Dance / NYC於2017年創立推進舞蹈資金補助方案,盼解決舞蹈領域中資源分配不公的問題。此問題於其2016年紐約市舞蹈現狀與其勞動力人口統計(Dance.NYC/StateofDance2016)研究中被強調出來。報告顯示,最小的舞蹈組織能表現出最大的適應能力,並且,相較於大型組織勞動力,小型組織的勞動力更能反映出紐約市人口中身障及移民的種族多樣性及其存在事實。研究亦表示年度預算低於一百萬美元的舞蹈製作者佔總構成比例最高 (84%),其收入加總卻只佔總收入的10%。

2020年,Dance/NYC的研究報告在持續改變的舞蹈產業生態中定義“低預算”舞蹈製作群體 (Dance.NYC/SBDMdata2020)中,進一步揭示幾乎所有“低預算”舞蹈製作者都需要支付工資(95 %) ,一般運營用 (93%)的資金。過半團體 (56%) 表示最關鍵的資金需求是為薪水/工資類別。 如此需求隨著舞蹈領域因應去年開始的Covid-19大流行而持續受到衝擊,更顯加劇急迫。正如Dance/NYC之資訊簡報:新冠病毒對舞蹈之影響(https://bit.ly/DNYC_COVID_DanceImpactBrief)所揭示的訊息一樣,個體舞蹈工作者無法滿足包括住、食、醫療和心理健康資源等等的基本需求。 同樣地,舞蹈製作的機關組織表示無法滿足如薪水/工資和租金等營運基本需求。 Dance/NYC 已調查確定,因疫情大流行而永久關閉的舞蹈和藝術組織迄今共22 家,另有 18%的組織回報即將關閉之消息。 這些面臨閉業的組織中預算低於 10 萬美元的,佔84%的比例。

2021年截至目前,舞蹈推進基金已提供了四十五個獨特的舞蹈製作組織及團體八十萬美元的一般運營資金之支持,其組織和團體的預算於兩次資助週期中(一期兩年)均低於 100 萬美元。隨著 Dance/NYC 啟動該資助計劃的第三代,將於資助期內提供三十五至五十名舞蹈製作者共九十萬美元的資助,目標爲:

  • 解決白人至上主義和仍持續的COVID-19大流行所造成的壓迫制度之長期影響。
  • 透過持續填補最需要資源之處的資源需求空缺,促進舞蹈領域的經濟公平公正。
  • 透過解決舞蹈製作組織們不間斷的財務與相關知識支援的迫切需求,讓組織們能往蓬勃發展的狀態前進。

對Dance/NYC 而言,提供資源讓蓬勃發展的舞製者在製作舞蹈時擁有尊嚴之定義為:

  • 能夠對參與其藝術工作之構思、創造、執行、演出與發行的所有舞蹈工作者及合作對象支付體面的酬勞。
  • 能夠保有自動生成藝術家(generative artists)。自動生成藝術家定義保括對新作品的創作和/或作品保持、存檔、表演和存留定劇目及遺產、留存作品。
  • 能夠與合作對象、觀眾、當地社群及其領域建立問責制和相互因存的健康關係。

Dance/NYC對蓬勃發展的定義是從與現期及前期的推進舞蹈基金獲助者的持續對話中反映出來的。而在此領域的舞蹈製作者上,蓬勃(thriving)所體現出來的許多表現形式及迭代,也不過僅為其定義的其中之一而已。


基金的遺留資產,演變,及其管理

Dance / NYC相信,舞蹈產業生態本身須具公正度、公平性與包容力,才能具意義的實質貢獻社會進步,並創建一個對所有藝術家、文化工作者和觀眾來說,能公平分享權利、資金、機會、行動及影響力之舞蹈生態學。它尋求政策、投資、計劃、思維方式及實際行動的推進,以消弭並防止從教室課堂中至舞台上的舞蹈生命及其連續體內所存在的不平等。

Dance/NYC此種方法貫穿於其所有公共計畫裡——包括倡議,研究,領導力之培訓,社群網絡和集會召開;科技與能見度;與重複補助——以及其營運的全面向均採用此法。此法具有交叉重疊性,在多種問題領域上創建以共同創造一個更公正、公平,更具包容性的舞蹈生態。Dance/NYC 的工作方式也以合作為基礎。它認同那些致力於促進藝術和文化中之公平正義和包容性的多代組織與人民,並努力為其努力做出貢獻。Dance/NYC已與同行的藝術服務機構建立了正式合作夥伴關係。

第三代(期)舞蹈促進基金補助之組成元素,及其持續演進的內容中,反映出了:

  • 與現期及前期的舞蹈促進基金獲助者,舞蹈產業內的合作夥伴,Dance/NYC的專案小組及委員會,Dance/NYC進行中的研究,所有曾申請Dance/NYC包括現行及前期補助計畫的申請人及獲助者持續的學習和對話。
  • 貝蒂之女烏木諾爾·金藝術合作公司(Ebony Noelle Golden of Betty’s Daughter Arts Collaborative, LLC)之方向、願景、想法和建議; 以及
  • 當前事件對舞蹈產業的影響。

Dance/NYC亦受到國際黑人舞蹈協會之全面向組織健全倡議 (COHI) |組織耐受度及生命力管理的啟發,以及丹尼斯桑德斯·湯普森的領導影響。

根據以上陳述之公平正義與包容性之價值觀,Dance/NYC將帶領此補助基金的發展、實施與評估的過程以確保達成下列:

  • 必先滿足基金補助的優先順序。
  • 申請者群體能反應出大紐約市都會區的人口結構。
  • 資金申請者收到申請流程及合格條件的明確相關訊息。
  • 跨地域和跨人口結構之申請人能有機會獲得填表完成申請的支持;
  • 申請的過程與其訊息傳播,將透過社群中的合作夥伴、組織人和舞蹈領域中成員來領導和對話;
  • 申請過程能創造與在地舞蹈製作社群更有意義的互動機會;和
  • 盡力將可能妨礙參與的障礙消除。

此些目標將透過下列方式達成:

  • 雇用貝蒂之女烏木諾爾·金藝術合作公司的顧問以提供Dance/NYC團隊建議,也提供想申請基金補助的舞蹈製作人便利服務與聯絡窗口。金女士是一位藝術家、學者和文化策略者,對於紐約表演藝術生態系統中視野、正義和創造力重疊交叉處的交匯有著超過 15 年的經驗。
  • 精簡所有申件公告、資格符合與否標準、及申請相關問題和所需事項等等的內容;
  • 申請表中僅列出絕對必須的問題,好滿足資金補助的優先條件;並切實考慮申請者所需花費的時間與資源。
  • 提供申請人多個能獲取支援幫助的聯繫窗口;以及
  • 與市鎮自治藝術委員會合作,聘用在地社群的組織者與歷屆獲補助者一起宣傳此基金補助的消息。

第三代(期)舞蹈基金補助計畫由下列Dance/NYC工作人員帶領:

  • 亞歷珊卓·杜克·西富恩特斯(Alejandra Duque Cifuentes),執行長
  • 克絲汀·雷諾斯(Kirsten Reynolds),資助部門經理
  • 俄樂克西雅EM(Alexeya EM), 資助部門助理

時間表

補助徵件公告 2021年八月25號

線上研討會

強烈建議所有申請者參加。

2021年9月2日,上午10:00 -下午12:30

zoom.us/j/93681911073 OR
Call 929.205.6099 (New York)
Meeting ID: 936 8191 1073 

線上技術援助會議

每節會議20分鐘

  • 9 月 9 日美東時間下午 3點-下午7點
  • 9 月 16 日,美東時間上午 10點- 下午 1點
  • 9 月 23 日,美東時間上午 10點- 下午1點
  • 9 月 30 日,美東時間上午 10點- 下午 1點
 

每節四十分鐘

  • 9 月 8 日,美東時間上午 11點- 下午 1點
  • 9 月 10 日,美東時間下午 3點到4點
  • 9 月 22 日,美東時間上午 11點- 下午 1點
  • 9 月 30 日,美東時間下午 3點到4點
申請截止時間 2021年美東時間10月8號 晚上11:59點
小組審查 2021年十一月
獲助通知 2021年十二月
獲補助者名單公佈 2022年一月
補助金額撥款支付

2022 年 1 月 2 日當週(首筆款項支付)

2023 年 1 月 3 日當週(第二筆款項支付)

獲助者線上說明會 2022 年 1 月 17 日當週
受補助者期中報告截止日 2022 年 11 月 30 日
受補助者結案報告截止日 2024 年 3月 31 日

關於Dance/NYC

Dance/NYC的任務為提升紐約市大都會區的舞蹈相關知識,賞識力,實踐,與表現及表演。其具公正性,公平度,與包容力的價值觀,緊密嵌入整體組織內各個面向及部門。

關於福特基金會

福特基金會成立於 1936 年;在其創立的八十年間,爲促進世界各地人類之尊嚴,一直致力於投資具創新理念和遠見的個人及前線機構。我們相信所有人類擁有與生俱來的尊嚴。但這世界上有太多人被決定其命運的政治、經濟和社會機構排除在外。而為了因應此殘酷現實,我們以社會正義的願景作為指導法則——在這世界中,任何個體、社群和人民均應致力保護並充分施展其人權;且積極參與影響人民的決策;平等分享社會知識、財富及資源; 與能發揮其全部潛力的自由。八十年來,我們的使命始終注重在減緩貧困與不公正體事,加強民主價值觀,提升國際合作並促進人類成就之上。

關於霍華吉爾曼基金會

霍華吉爾曼(Howard Gilman)相信藝術具有轉化生命的力量。霍華吉爾曼基金會透過支持紐約市內最強能、創新及前途的表演藝術組織,以紀念榮耀其遺留的珍貴遺產。

關於貝蒂之女烏木諾爾·金藝術協作公司

貝蒂之女烏木諾爾·金藝術協作(簡稱BDAC)是一家位於哈林區的文化諮詢與藝術進速推手。自2009 年起,該諮詢公司已推動了全美80 多個組織中司法與其組織健康之系統、公司策略和解決方案。2020 年,BDAC 推出木星表演工作室(Jupiter Performance Studio),把公司內所有創意及藝術教育工作部門含括在工作室之下。 木星表演工作室是開發、探索和製作遍佈各地的黑裔表演傳統之中心。由藝術家、學者及創辦人烏木諾爾·金(Ebony Noelle Golden )帶領,BDAC將多樣世界連結在一起。BDAC 以結果為導向的全體性觀點使自身成為具成效的策略高手、教練和組織社群的推手。BDAC 視合作組織為合作夥伴,而非客戶。BDAC 以親愛的烏木之母貝蒂安錫斯( Betty Ann Sims )博士命名,安錫斯博士是名退休教授、社會工作者以及青年干預主義者。

關於吉布尼數位媒體計畫

吉布尼數位媒體計畫旨在使藝術家能創作高質感的數位內容並讓科技融入其實踐中。數位媒體計劃(DMI)藉由提供培訓、諮詢、硬軟體使用、拍攝資金補貼、以及後製編輯服務等等來支持藝術家。

關於五角星(Pentacle)

五角星(Pentacle)自 1976 年以來便一直被視為藝術管理領域中的典範,它讓表演藝術家能專注在自己最擅長的事情之上——藝術創作及觀眾互動。作為敏捷響應者且值得信賴的夥伴,五角星與表演藝術家合作,在其職業生涯之關鍵時刻設計並提供獨特且強能的職涯支持計劃。

五角星的計劃項目包括:包括財政管理和贊助的財政服務; 包括指導教習、人事與表演/展出機會等的案子訂定及行政支持;為青年提供長成為下一代表演藝術家、藝術管理人員和觀眾所需工具之教育和外展計劃;包括與非傳統舞蹈場所合作的新舉措,以及具量能之新線上行政支援平台 nextSteps。

關於目標製作公司

目標製作公司支持藝術家和組織者製作旨在養育出充滿目標宗旨(PURPOSE-full)的作品,以統一並發展世界型社區。

我們集合各個反資本主義之自由業者,讓他們與個人及機構合作,透過行銷、管理、和家庭支持等合作,將願景轉成現實。目標製作公司以斯瓦希里語Nia之翻譯命名,以寬紮(Kwanzaa)節慶——一個慶祝祖先、社群與個體勞動成果的非裔美人節日之原則為基礎。 我們的工作文化根植自非洲人之美學和價值體系,而我們的社群則代表著多樣文化、流派與經驗。

關於增信(TrustPlus

增信(TrustPlus)作為全國性的非營利組織,在客製的時間地點提供您私人的理財指導:債務管理的協助、信用的增強,並在您通往財務健康之道途中積累財富。

A figure dancing reaching up and out toward the sky wearing a yellow harness and matching skirt.

Sign up for Dance/NYC News

Dance Advancement Fund

English 汉字 Español

Dance Advancement Fund. For metropolitan NYC area dance makers with operating budgets between $10,000 and $500,000. Application open Wed Aug 25 to Mon Oct 4 (6PM EST). bit.ly/DanceAdvancement21

2022-2023 Dance Advancement Fund Overview

Table of Contents


Para leer este artículo en español, haga clic aquí.

中文版,請開此連結。

Program Overview and Goals

Made possible by the generous support of the Ford Foundation and Howard Gilman Foundation, the purpose of the funding initiative is to address the inequitable distribution of resources in the dance field and advance its resilience and thriving. 

Dance/NYC established the Dance Advancement Fund in 2017 to address the inequitable distribution of resources in the dance field, which was underscored by its research, 2016 State of NYC Dance and Workforce Demographics report, which shows that the smallest organizations demonstrate the greatest capacity to adapt and have workforces that better reflect the racial diversity and presence of disabled and immigrant people in New York City’s population than the workforces of larger organizations. The research also revealed that dance makers with annual budgets of less than $1 million comprise the lion’s share (84%) of total groups but have access to only 10% of the total revenue. 

In 2020, Dance/NYC’s research study, Defining “Small-Budget” Dance Makers in a Changing Dance Ecology, further revealed that nearly all “small-budget” dance makers need funding for salaries/wages (95%) and general operations (93%), with more than half (56%) indicating that the salaries/wages category was the most critical funding need. These needs have only deepened over the course of the past year as the sector responds to the ongoing impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic, as revealed through Dance/NYC’s Coronavirus Dance Impact Informational Brief which found that individual dance workers were unable to meet their basic needs including housing, food, and medical and mental health resources. Similarly, dance making organizations expressed an inability to cover basic needs, including salaries/wages and rent. To date, and as a result of the pandemic, Dance/NYC has identified 22 dance and arts organizations that have permanently closed their doors with another 18% reporting closure as imminent. Of those facing permanent closure, 84% have budgets under $100K.  

As of 2021, the Dance Advancement Fund has provided $800,000 in general operating support to 45 unique dance making organizations and groups with budgets under $1 million across two grant cycles. As Dance/NYC moves into the third iteration of the program, it will distribute $900,000 over the course of the grant period to 35-50 dance makers with the goals to:

  • Address the long-term impacts of systems of oppression as manifested through white supremacy and the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic; 
  • Advance economic justice in the dance field by continuing to fill gaps in the availability of resources where they are most needed; and 
  • Address the critical need for consistent financial and knowledge-based support that will allow dance making organizations to move into a state of thriving.  

For Dance/NYC, thriving dance makers have the resources to make dance with dignity, defined as the ability to:

  • Pay dignified wages to all dance workers and collaborators who engage in the ideation, creation, execution, performance, and distribution of their artistic works;
  • Remain generative artists, defined as the creation of new works and/or the sustaining, archiving, performance, and preservation of repertory and/or legacy works; and
  • Work in accountability and healthy interdependent relationships with their collaborators, audiences, local communities, and the field. 

Dance/NYC’s definition of thriving is a reflection of its ongoing dialogue with current and former Dance Advancement Fund grantees. It is also only one definition of the many manifestations and iterations that thriving can embody for dance makers in the field. 


Legacy, Evolution, and Administration of the Program

Dance/NYC believes the dance ecology must itself be just, equitable, and inclusive to meaningfully contribute to social progress and envisions a dance ecology wherein power, funding, opportunities, conduct, and impacts are fair for all artists, cultural workers, and audiences. It seeks to advance policies, investments, programs, mindsets, and actions that remove and prevent inequities that exist along the continuum of lives in dance, from the public-school classroom to the stage. 

Dance/NYC’s approach cuts across its public programs—advocacy; research; leadership training, networking and convening; technology and visibility; and regranting—and all aspects of its operations. Its approach is intersectional, building upon multiple issue areas that together create a more just, equitable, and inclusive dance ecology. Dance/NYC’s approach is also grounded in collaboration. It recognizes generations of people and organizations working to advance justice, equity, and inclusion in the arts and culture and strives to contribute to their efforts. It has established formal partnerships with colleague arts service organizations.

The third iteration of the Dance Advancement Fund, its components, and continued evolution is a reflection of:

  • Ongoing learning and dialogue with current and past Dance Advancement Fund grantees, field partners, Dance/NYC’s task forces and committees, Dance/NYC’s ongoing research, former and current Dance/NYC grantees and applicants across Dance/NYC’s grantmaking programs;
  • The direction, vision, conjuring, and advisement of Ebony Noelle Golden of Betty’s Daughter Arts Collaborative, LLC; and 
  • The current events impacting the field. 

It is also inspired by The International Association of Blacks in Dance Comprehensive Organizational Health Initiative (COHI) | Managing Organizational Vitality and Endurance and the leadership of Denise Saunders Thompson. 

In alignment with these stated values of justice, equity, and inclusion, Dance/NYC will lead the development, implementation, and evaluation of the Fund to ensure the following:

  • Fund priorities are met;
  • Applicant pool is a reflection of the demography of the metropolitan New York City area;
  • Applicants receive clear information regarding the eligibility and application process;  
  • Applicants across geographies and demographics have the opportunity to receive support in completing their application;
  • The application process and the dissemination of information regarding the application is led by and in conversation with community partners, organizers, and members of the field; 
  • The application process creates opportunities for more meaningful engagement with local dance-making communities; and
  • As many barriers to participation as possible are removed. 

These goals were met by:

  • Hiring of consultant Ebony Noelle Golden of Betty’s Daughter Arts Collaborative, LLC to advise the team at Dance/NYC, facilitate, and serve as a liaison to dance makers who choose to apply to the Fund. Ms. Golden is an artist, scholar, and culture strategist conjuring at the intersection of vision, justice, and creativity with the NYC performing arts ecosystem for over 15 years.
  • Streamlining application announcements, eligibility and ineligibility criteria, and application questions and materials;
  • Only including questions in the application that are absolutely necessary to meet funding priorities and that are conscientious of the time and resource investment required of applicants;
  • Offering multiple points of contact for applicants to receive support; and
  • Working in collaboration with borough arts councils and hiring local community organizers and former grantees to spread the word about the Fund. 

The third iteration of the Dance Advancement Fund is led by the following Dance/NYC Staff:

  • Alejandra Duque Cifuentes, Executive Director
  • Kirsten Reynolds, Grantmaking Manager
  • Alexeya EM, Grantmaking Assistant

Timeline

Call for proposals release August 25, 2021

Webinar

All applicants are strongly encouraged to participate

September 2, 2021, 10:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.

zoom.us/j/93681911073 OR
Call 929.205.6099 (New York)
Webinar ID: 936 8191 1073

Virtual Technical Assistance Sessions

20-minute sessions

  • September 9th, 3:00 p.m. - 7:00 p.m. EST
  • September 16th, 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. EST 
  • September 23rd, 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. EST 
  • September 30th, 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. EST
 

40-minute sessions

  • September 8, 2021, 11:00 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. EST
  • September 10, 2021, 3:00 and 4:00 p.m. EST
  • September 22, 2021, 11:00 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. EST
  • September 30, 2021, 3:00 and 4:00 p.m. EST
Deadline for submission Monday, October 4, 2021, 6:00 p.m. EST
Panel review November 2021
Award notification December 2021
Grantee announcement January 2022
Grant disbursements Week of January 2, 2022 (1st payment)
Week of January 3, 2023 (2nd payment)
Grantee Orientation Webinar* Week of January 17, 2022
Interim grantee report due* November 30, 2022
Final grantee report due* March 31, 2024

* Required for all award recipients


About Dance/NYC
Dance/NYC’s mission is to promote the knowledge, appreciation, practice, and performance of dance in the metropolitan New York City area. It embeds values of justice, equity, and inclusion into all aspects of the organization.

About the Ford Foundation
The Ford Foundation was founded in 1936, and has invested in innovative ideas, visionary individuals, and frontline institutions advancing human dignity around the world across eight decades. We believe in the inherent dignity of all people. But around the world, too many people are excluded from the political, economic, and social institutions that shape their lives. In addressing this reality, we are guided by a vision of social justice—a world in which all individuals, communities, and peoples work toward the protection and full expression of their human rights; are active participants in the decisions that affect them; share equitably in the knowledge, wealth, and resources of society; and are free to achieve their full potential. Across eight decades, our mission has been to reduce poverty and injustice, strengthen democratic values, promote international cooperation, and advance human achievement.

About the Howard Gilman Foundation
Howard Gilman believed in the power of the arts to transform lives. The Howard Gilman Foundation honors his legacy by supporting the most robust, innovative, and promising performing arts organizations in New York City.

About Betty’s Daughter Arts Collaborative, LLC
Betty's Daughter Arts Collaborative (BDAC) is a cultural consultancy and arts accelerator based in the village of Harlem.  Since 2009, the consultancy has fueled systems, strategies, and solutions for justice and organizational wellness for more than 80 organizations nationally.  In 2020, BDAC launched Jupiter Performance Studio, which houses all of the company’s creative and arts education endeavors. Jupiter Performance Studio is a hub for the development, exploration, and production of diasporic Black performance traditions. Led by artist, scholar, and organizer Ebony Noelle Golden, BDAC bridges many worlds. BDAC’s holistic, results-oriented perspective makes them effective strategists, coaches, and community organizers. BDAC views the organizations they work with as collaborators, not as clients. BDAC is affectionately named after Ebony’s mother, Dr. Betty Ann Sims, who is a retired professor, social worker, and youth interventionist. 

About Gibney’s Digital Media Initiative
Gibney’s Digital Media Initiative seeks to empower artists to create high quality digital content and integrate technology into their practice. The DMI supports artists by providing trainings, consultations, access to hardware and software, and subsidized filming and editing services.

About Pentacle
Since 1976, Pentacle has been a model in the arts administration field, enabling performing artists to focus on what they do best—create art and engage with audiences. As a responsive and trusted partner, Pentacle collaborates with performing artists to design and provide unique and robust programs of support at critical stages in their careers.

Pentacle’s programs include: Fiscal Services, comprised of fiscal administration and sponsorship; Booking, Administrative Support including mentorship, personnel, and performance/showcase opportunities; Education & Outreach programs giving youth the tools they need to grow into the next generation of performing artists, arts administrators, and audiences; and New Initiatives that include partnerships with non-traditional venues for dance and nextSteps our new, capacity-building online administrative support platform.

About PURPOSE Productions
PURPOSE Productions supports artists and organizers in the mothering of PURPOSE-full work that seeks to unify and develop our world community.

Our collective of anti-capitalist freelancers collaborates with individuals and institutions to collaboratively bring visions to fruition through marketing, management, support for families, and more. Named after the Swahili translation of the name Nia, PURPOSE Productions grounds itself in the principles of Kwanzaa, an African American holiday celebrating the fruits of ancestral, communal, and individual labor. Our work is rooted in an Africanist aesthetic and value system, and our community represents diverse cultures, genres, and experiences.

About TrustPlus
A national nonprofit, TrustPlus provides personal finance coaching where and when you need it, helping clients to manage debt, strengthen credit, and build savings on the path to financial health.

an orange rectangle with 4 dotted blue lines along the margins. White text within reads

Sign up for Dance/NYC News